BIG3 Season 2: Drew Gooden Joins 3’Company

New York, NY., – The BIG3 announced today that Drew Gooden has signed on as a Co-Captain of 3’s Company and will join Captain DerMarr Johnson and Co-Captain Baron Davis. The trio will lead the team alongside coach Allen Iverson. This offseason, BIG3 expanded rosters by adding a second Co-Captain to each team. In recent weeks, Nate Robinson (Tri-State), Baron Davis (3’s Company), Ron Artest (Killer 3s) Glen ‘Big Baby’ Davis (Power), and Carlos Boozer (Ghost Ballers) have been announced as high-profile Co-Captain acquisitions. With Gooden’s signing, only two Co-Captain spots remain.

Gooden played 14 seasons in the NBA with the Memphis Grizzlies, Orlando Magic, Cleveland Cavaliers, Chicago Bulls, Sacramento Kings, San Antonio Spurs, Dallas Mavericks, Los Angeles Clippers, Milwaukee Bucks and Washington Wizards.  He attended the University of Kansas where as a junior he led the country in rebounding, and helped the team to its first conference championship since 1998.  Kansas made it to the 2002 Final Four, before dropping to Maryland, the eventual national champion, in the semifinal.  Gooden’s performance that season earned him BIG 12 Player of the Year, National Association of Basketball Coaches co-Player of the Year, and first-team All-American honors.  He entered the NBA draft later that year and was selected No. 4 overall by the Memphis Grizzlies. Over his NBA career, Gooden averaged 11.0 points and 7.1 rebounds per game.

In the BIG3’s inaugural season, 3’s Company finished in fifth place after narrowly defeating Tri-State 51-48 in the playoffs. The team will fill its three remaining roster spots in the BIG3 Draft.

The BIG3 previously announced two-year agreements with 22 player captains, co-captains and coaches from the inaugural season, including 2017 BIG3 MVP Rashard Lewis, 2017 BIG3 Champions Trilogy’s Kenyon Martin, Al Harrington and coach Rick Mahorn, Allen Iverson, Corey Maggette, Chauncey Billups, Clyde Drexler, Gary Payton, Brian Scalabrine, Jermaine O’Neal, Charles Oakley, Stephen Jackson, Mike Bibby, DerMarr Johnson, Jermaine O’Neal, Ricky Davis, Josh Childress, Cuttino Mobley, Jerome “Junk Yard Dog” Williams, George “The Iceman” Gervin, and Rick Barry.

The BIG3’s 10-week season will tip off on June 22 and air live on Friday nights on FOX Broadcast Network and FS1.


This press release is credited and brought to you by the BIG3.

About BIG3: BIG3  is where basketball superstars play. The premier half-court, 3-on-3 basketball league, BIG3 features many of the greatest, most popular and skilled NBA players of all time. Founded by producer, actor and music legend Ice Cube and entertainment executive Jeff Kwatinetz, the BIG3 combines highly competitive, physical, fast basketball and incredible fan experiences. Comprised of eight teams, the league played to huge crowds in ten different US cities throughout the 2017 inaugural season. For more information and to sign up for news updates, visit

Leave a Reply